Spooky Trousers

20140117-144732.jpgHello! This post comes to you at the wrong time of year really, though in my world, Halloween is a constant.

My dad has his own cult horror magazine and has hung vintage horror posters all over our house, while Childs Play was one of the first movies I ever watched! Horror has therefore always been a big part of my life, in the best way possible that is! I think it’s for this reason that I like spooky inspired things.

I really like the aesthetics of old horror movies and vintage horror comics, with the bold colouring, exaggerated facial expressions and drippy lettering. Although it might sound like a strange thing to say, I also really love the sets of old horror movies, and find something about them kind of cosy. Those huge haunted houses and arm chairs beside crackling fires ❤

Combine these interests with a thing for colourful, bizarre, crazily patterned, psychedelic clothing and you get a wardrobe that could be mistaken for fancy dress wear. While I keep meaning to do more fashion posts, I also don’t have a decent camera or setting to take the photos in. I think that once the weather gets better this will be something to make an effort with! For now though, here are some pictures of two pairs of my spooky trousers that I managed to snap up in the sales.

20140117-144811.jpgHow awesome are these bone leggings?! They’re from Lazy Oaf, which is a crazy cool brand. Their clothing is usually quite pricey, but these leggings were reduced to £10 from £45! Bargain or what?! If you wanted to get yourself a pair then they’ve actually been further reduced to £5! So quick, go get em!

patterned leggings can scare people sometimes, because the trouble with bold designs is that they can be tricky to pair with things. The thing with leggings is that a good, long, slouchy, plain coloured jumper will always work. With monochrome leggings such as these you could get away with pretty much any colour, and as I found out with the above, a cropped shirt can look cool too.

 

20140117-144545.jpg

I don’t know what kind of a facial expression this is meant to be, but basically, I never know how to pose in pictures. Seriously, whatever I do I look like a goof!

I was SO.DAMN.PLEASED about these trousers. I’d been drooling over Topshop’s ‘Ghoul Girl’ collection over the last few months but not been able to afford much, then, as I wandered into my local the other week I spotted these babies looking lonesome in the sale rail. They’re so comfortable and the design is really cool, with a montage of halloweeny images. The icing on the cake was that they were reduced to £10 from £35! I feel like a bargain queen.

Here is a closer look:

Screen shot 2014-01-17 at 15.27.43So, I guess this is just a quick post. Did any of you get some cool sale stuff? Let me know in the comments!

Have a good weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

